Little Gold “Wake Up & Die Right” - NOW SHIPPING!

rickoLus - Bones LP - Pre-Order

Regular price $17.00
rickoLus - Bones LP - Pre-Order

Northeast Florida sing-songwriter rickoLus digs deep on a roots trip with his new album, BonesIn the 20 years since he formed and fronted raucous garage poppers Julius Airwave, rickoLus (AKA Rick Colado) has released nine well-received EPs and full-length records. rickoLus crafts songs that can seem informed by artists as disparate as Sebadoh and early Springsteen; albeit if the Boss recorded his entire body of work in a small shed in his beach-town backyard. DIY to the core, rickoLus produces all of his albums, playing the bulk of the instruments as well. Collaborations with notable peers like Radical Face, Ceschi Ramos, and Bleubird, along with solo U.S. and European tours, have kept the 40-year-old musician constantly on record and perpetually on the road.  

Now rickoLus is turning that forward momentum to take a look behind, with what might be his most personal album to date. Bones chronicles his days of growing up in Jacksonville Beach, Florida – and the myriad relationships with the people, places, and things that shaped him. “It’s also a homage to a world that doesn’t exist anymore and deals with the bitter sweet predicament of getting old,” explains rickoLus.

Produced by David Barbe (Sugar, Drive-By Truckers) at his Chase Park Transduction studio in Athens, Georgia, over the course of Bones’ ten tracks, rickoLus excavates his youth: the landscape (“Beach Town,” “Dirt Road”, “All Night Diner”, “Keep Dancing”) his family (“Mary Manhattan,” “Jasper”), finding his lo-fi muse (“4-Track Love Song”) and “Shivering,” a somber meditation on addiction and those who didn’t survive that same town. “Out Here” wraps up his sonic reverie, celebrating the person he’s become. From his signature languid ballads to whip-sharp power pop, Bones finds rickoLus at the peak of powers, looking deep into the past while moving straight ahead.

Track List: 

Side A:
1. Beach Town
2. Four-Track Love Song 
3. Keep Dancing
4. Jasper
5. Dirt Road
Side B: 
6. People Like Us
7. Mary Manhattan 
8. Shivering 
9. Out Here 
10. All Night Diner 

140gm random-color regrind vinyl. 

Release date: 3.5.2020

Related Products